top of page

Choosing Your Chip


Let’s get one thing out of the way first, both potato and tortilla chips are necessary. Choosing your chip comes down to which variation of the two you should serve.


Let’s start with my favorite junk food, potato chips. The legend states that a customer in a diner was unhappy with the way his french fries were served. Order after order he sent back asking them to be thinner and more crisp. Finally the cook became fed up with this and chopped them so thin they crisped and curled in the fryer. The chef thinking that he pulled one over on this snobby customer sent them out. The waitress returned with a message from the customer “they are perfect”.


Today I want to say there are dozens of flavors of potato chip but there are easily hundreds. Why? Well I guess we get bored. Personally the classic is my favorite but they are not the best when it comes to dips. Usually breaking off in the heavy dip. So, only serve them on the side. In fact no matter which flavor you choose make sure they are rippled if you are going to dip them.


So which chip flavor should you choose… sour cream and onion, BBQ, salt and vinegar, sour cream and cheddar (my favorite). If you are looking for an answer to the best chip flavor, you are not going to find it here. Just put out a bowl of plain and a bowl of something “fun”. I say fun because they are just a chip and the word interesting just does not seem to be appropriate. One suggestion though. Do not put out ketchup chips. They are unnatural.


To be honest I am not sure how the tortilla chip was created but I am going to assume that it was not an angry customer who thought their tortilla was not thin or crispy enough. What I will assume that someone decided to take what is already delicious and fry it. Nine times out of ten it will be good if not better than what went into the fryer.


Once again the shape is important. I love a basket of hot fresh tortilla chips that are often served at Mexican restaurants. This is probably number 4 on the list of my favorite junk foods after potato chips, Oreo, and cheez-its. Unfortunately the large triangle shaped chip is not ideal if you have a small paper plate. What you do want are the preformed “scoops”. They will just make everyone’s life easier. After those, the rounds are good. Also do not get “whole grain” tortilla chips. I am not sure why they even exist.


Since this post really doesn't answer any question anyone was asking I will leave you all with a tip. If you only have crumbs left at the bottom of your tortilla chip bag, you can pour them into a bowl with a little salsa and eat them like cereal. I am not sure if the rule of pouring your milk or in this case, the salsa, in after your cereal or… chips matters. It sounds weird but I know at least one person did it and it worked out for them.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page